Connect with us


Nobel Economics Prize awarded to David Card, Joshua Angrist and Guido Imbens



This year’s Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel or the Nobel Economics Prize has been awarded one half to David Card and the other half jointly to Joshua D. Angrist and Guido W. Imbens.

According to the Nobel committee’s statement, this year’s Laureates were awarded for providing “new insights about the labour market and shown what conclusions about cause and effect can be drawn from natural experiments. Their approach has spread to other fields and revolutionised empirical research.” 

Also read |Nobel Peace Prize awarded to journalists Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov

(Image: The Nobel Prize/Twitter)

David Card, from Canada, is a Professor of Economics at the University of California, Berkeley, USA.

Joshua D. Angrist, is an American, the Ford Professor of Economics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, USA.

Guido W. Imbens, from the Netherlands, is the Applied Econometrics Professor and Professor of Economics, Stanford University, USA.


Interestingly, Nobel Economics Prize is the only Nobel prize not originally included in Nobel’s 1895 will. It was established in 1968 to commemorate the 300th anniversary of the Swedish central bank.  

Main Article
Disclaimer: This post has been auto-published from an agency feed without any modifications to the text and has not been reviewed by an editor.