Connect with us


IPL 2021 Final, CSK vs KKR Live Cricket Score: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Faf Du Plessis Get Chennai Super Kings Off To Solid Start | Cricket News



IPL 2021 Final, CSK vs KKR Live Score: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Faf Du Plessis Get Chennai Super Kings Off To Solid Start

CSK vs KKR IPL Score: MS Dhoni and Eoin Morgan greet each other during toss.© BCCI/IPL

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), who are aiming to win their third title, won the toss and elected to bowl against Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 final at the Dubai International Stadium on Friday. Both sides haven’t made any changes to their respective playing XIs. The MS Dhoni-led outfit has been in fantastic form this year after a poor campaign last season. After finishing in second position in the IPL 2021 points table, the three-time champions defeated Delhi Capitals (DC) in Qualifier 1 by four wickets to progress to the summit clash. Meanwhile, KKR have been in resurgent form in UAE and finished fourth in the standings. The Eoin Morgan-led franchise defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in the Eliminator by four wickets and then followed it up with a three-wicket victory against Delhi in Qualifier 2. CSK will be relying a lot on young opener Ruturaj Gaikwad, who is currently second in the Orange Cap race. The 24-year-old has registered 603 in 15 games and is only 23 runs behind leader KL Rahul. Meanwhile, all eyes will be on Venkatesh Iyer too. The KKR all-rounder has been a revelation in UAE this season and will be a key player for the two-time IPL champions in the summit clash. (LIVE SCORECARD)

IPL 2021 Live Score Updates Between Chennai Super Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders, straight from Dubai International Stadium, Dubai

  • 19:43 (IST)


    A short delivery by Shakib, on middle and leg. Gaikwad pulls it to deep midwicket for a maximum!

  • 19:42 (IST)


    A full ball by Shakib, outside off. Gaikwad sweeps it to deep backward square leg for a four with much aplomb!

  • 19:42 (IST)

    One bye

    Shakib tosses it full, outside leg. Du Plessis mis-times his shot and Karthik misses it too. Ball goes for a bye!

  • 19:41 (IST)

    No run, CSK: 9/0 (2)

    A good length delivery by Mavi, outside off. Gaikwad defends it.

  • 19:37 (IST)

    One run

    A full delivery by Mavi, on off. Du Plessis glances it to deep square for a single.

  • 19:36 (IST)

    No run

    A full delivery by Mavi, straight on off. Du Plessis defends it. No run.

  • 19:33 (IST)


    Shakib tosses it short, on middle and leg. Gaikwad sweeps it to deep square leg for a four!

  • 19:32 (IST)

    One run

    A length delivery by Shakib, on middle. Du Plessis hits it to midwicket for a single!

  • 19:31 (IST)

    One run

    Shakib tosses it full, on middle. Gaikwad directs it to mid-off for a single.

  • 19:29 (IST)

    The action begins!

    Ruturaj Gaikwad and Faf du Plessis walk in to open for CSK. Shakib Al Hasan to bowl the first over for KKR.

    Also, this is CSK’s ninth final and KKR’s third.

  • 19:10 (IST)

    Our international players are equipped to deal with whatever the situation maybe: MS Dhoni

    After toss, MS Dhoni said, “We are looking to bowl first as well, initially it stops a bit and as the game goes on it settles down and toss is uncontrollable and we are prepared for both. We started T20 in around 2005-06 and most of the games have been franchise cricket and in the last five years there have been a lot of T20 games in international cricket as well. We are playing with the same squad. Often what really dictates terms is the result and I feel our international players are equipped to deal with whatever the situation maybe.”

  • 19:09 (IST)

    Gonna give it everything tonight: Eoin Morgan

    After winning the toss, Eoin Morgan said, “We are gonna have a bowl, the wicket looks good and there’s some dew around. We are gonna give it everything tonight. We are going with the same team.”

  • 19:05 (IST)

    Here is the CSK playing XI

    Ruturaj Gaikwad, Faf du Plessis, Robin Uthappa, Moeen Ali, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni(w/c), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Dwayne Bravo, Deepak Chahar, Josh Hazlewood

  • 19:03 (IST)

    Here is the KKR playing XI

    Shubman Gill, Venkatesh Iyer, Nitish Rana, Rahul Tripathi, Dinesh Karthik(w), Eoin Morgan(c), Shakib Al Hasan, Sunil Narine, Lockie Ferguson, Shivam Mavi, Varun Chakaravarthy

  • 19:01 (IST)

    KKR win toss, opt to bowl

    KKR captain Eoin Morgan has won the toss and opted to bowl against CSK.

  • 18:52 (IST)

    9 minutes to toss!

    More 9 minutes to go now! Who do you think will come out on top in toss? MS Dhoni or Eoin Morgan?

  • 18:50 (IST)

    Faf du Plessis “getting into the groove”. See pic

    IPL took to social media to share a warming-up photo of Faf du Plessis. The South African has been in brilliant form for CSK this season and has registered 547 runs in 15 games. Here is his warm-up picture:

  • 18:41 (IST)

    Ruturaj Gaikwad and Varun Chakaravarthy catch-up. See pic

    Ruturaj Gaikwad and Varun Chakaravarthy have been in fantastic form this season for their respective sides. Chakaravarthy will be tasked with having to break CSK’s opening partnership. Here is the photo of Gaikwad and Chakaravarthy greeting each other in the stadium:

  • 18:30 (IST)

    Will Andre Russell feature for KKR?

    Andre Russell is recovering from injury and wasn’t part of the playing XI to feature against DC in Qualifier 2. Ahead of the final, KKR chief mentor David Hussey said, “He was bowling before the game (against DC) today, so he might be in the mix”.

    The all-rounder has been replaced by Shakib Al Hasan.

  • 18:15 (IST)

    MS Dhoni and CSK teammates depart fot venue. See pics

    CSK have taken to social media to share photos of MS Dhoni and Faf du Plessis departing for the Dubai International Stadium. Here are the photos:

  • 17:59 (IST)

    All eyes on Venkatesh Iyer!

    Iyer has been in amazing form in UAE this season and is one of the main reasons as to why KKR have reached the final. The all-rounder didn’t feature in any games in India and only started playing in UAE. He has registered 320 runs in nine games this season. He also smashed a knock of 55 in 41 balls during Qualifier 2 vs DC.

  • 17:41 (IST)

    Michael Vaughan’s prediction!

    Former England captain Michael Vaughan took to Twitter to predict the winner of the final and also Man of the Match.

    He tweeted, “As all my predictions this year have been spot on .. I think @ChennaiIPL  will win the Final today .. Man of the match will be @imjadeja  #IPL2021Final”.

  • 17:24 (IST)

    Key battle: Varun Chakaravarthy (KKR) vs Faf du Plessis/Ruturaj Gaikwad (CSK)

    Chakaravarthy is KKR’s highest wicket-taker this season with 18 dismissals from 16 games. He will be tasked with breaking the opening partnership of Du Plessis and Gaikwad, which has been a match-winner for CSK plenty of times. Gaikwad is currently second in the Orange Cap race and Du Plessis is fourth.

  • 17:16 (IST)

    Hello and good evening everyone!

    Hello and good evening everyone! Welcome to our live coverage of the IPL 2021 Final between CSK vs KKR at the Dubai International Stadium in Dubai. CSK finished in second position and then defeated DC in Qualifier 1 to book a seat in this final. Meanwhile, KKR were fourth in the points table and then defeated RCB in the Eliminator. They then followed it up with a win against DC in Qualifier 2. Both sides will be aiming for glory tonight! Stay tuned for some exciting cricket folks!

Topics mentioned in this article

Main Article
Disclaimer: This post has been auto-published from an agency feed without any modifications to the text and has not been reviewed by an editor.